Skip to content

Two Burns Lake candidates pull out of election

Four candidates will now be aclaimed as councillors

Burns Lake mayoral candidate Susan Schienbein and councillor candidate Bruce Martens have withdrawn their nominations.

Although an election will still be held Oct. 20 to choose the new mayor, the remaining four councillor candidates – Charlie Rensby, Darrell Hill, Kevin White and Henry Wiebe – will be acclaimed as village councillors.

The remaining mayoral candidates are Dolores Funk, Albert Gerow and John Rauch.

School district and regional district elections will also take place Oct. 20.

Incumbent Eileen Benedict, who was running again to represent Electoral Area E (Francois Lake/ Ootsa Lake rural), has also withdrawn her nomination, leaving candidate Clint Lambert to win by acclamation.

Michael Riis-Christianson is the only candidate running to represent Electoral Area B (Burns Lake rural).

As for School District No. 91, Rick Pooley is running to represent the Burns Lake and rural area, while Nyree Hazelton and incumbent Adele Gooding hope to become the next trustee for the Grassy Plains and Francois Lake area.

Running for school district trustee of Topley, Decker Lake and Granisle is incumbent Steve Davis, while Dave Christie and Doris Honeyman hope to represent the Enkado, Fraser Lake and Fort Fraser area.

The nomination period for candidates wishing to represent the Village of Burns Lake, Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako and School District 91 ended Sept. 14.

Local elections used to place on Nov. 15. The earlier election date is being implemented B.C.-wide this year.

Those elected serve a four-year term.



Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.